Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

DIY Masterclass: Financial Empowerment through Social Banking

28. June 2013 @ 10:00 - 14:00

free

The banking trend away from the local economy, the self-employed and relationship-finance in general is not going to improve in any forsee-able future. And consequently parallel credit markets, most of them illegal, are flourishing all over places like Berlin, where people who do not fit into the new banking-norm are the norm.

To get access to finance users need to empower themselves to get beyond the banking thresholds, standards, client segments in which they are categorised. What can we learn in terms of empowerment from the various social banking movements worldwide: from the community banking movement started in Chicago, from the micro-finance movements in Asia and Africa, from the eco-banking movements in Europe and from the good old mutual banking movements of the past. Also, what sort of experience can we get out of the various P2P-finance platforms emerging in Germany?

In June’s free DIY Masterclass at SUPERMARKT, Marion Straßer and Christophe Gvené from Kreditunion will explain the idea of the Financial Empowerment through Social Banking.

Building on these various experiences what is the new Kreditunion self-help model recently started in Berlin taking from international models (in particular the Italian Confidi, the Irish credit unions, the Dutch Rabobank and the international village banking model) to make things better? What is it proposing to the people and communities concretely in the area?

But finally, what is it that the self-employed and micro-entrepreneurs in IT, Know-how-based and service sectors need, what sort of financial instruments would best fit their development ?

Speakers Bio:

Marion Straßer studied African Studies and Latin-American Studies in Berlin, worked in the CRM team of smava online credit marketplace and over the last few months has helped the Kreditunion with acquisition and product development, especially in the field of credits for group initiatives.

Christophe Gvené is an international expert in the various forms of social banking and domesticated finance, involved in research, policy design and institution building over almost 20 years. He is presently actively developing the Kreditunion, a new microfinance cooperative starting up in Brussels and Berlin.

This Masterclass is free. The language of presentation will be English.

RSVP: If you would like to attend, please send a short email to rsvp[a]supermarkt-berlin.net

DIY Masterclass: Financial Empowerment through Social Banking

Details

Date:
28. June 2013
Time:
10:00 - 14:00
Cost:
free

Calendar

« July 2019 » loading...
M T W T F S S
1
3
4
5
6
7

DIY Masterclass: Financial Empowerment through Social Banking

Event
DIY Masterclass: Financial Empowerment through Social Banking
Beginn
28. Juni 2013 10:00
Ende
28. Juni 2013 14:00
Sprache:
English
Cost
free

Adresse

Supermarkt
Phone
(+49)30-609 875 905
Address
Supermarkt, Brunnenstrasse 64, 13355 Berlin
Kategorie:
Aktualisiert:
07.Juni 2013

DIY_jUNI

DIY Masterclass: Financial Empowerment through Social Banking

Der langjährige Banken-Trend weg von der lokalen Ökonomie, den Selbstständigen und Kleinstunternehmern, weg vom sogenannten “relationship banking” insgesamt, wird sich in vorhersehbarer Zukunft nicht ändern. Dementsprechend entwickeln sich parallele Kreditmärkte, die meisten von ihnen illegal, insbesondere im Berliner Raum, wo Menschen, die nicht der Banken-Norm entsprechen, die Norm darstellen.

Um an Finanzdienstleistungen heran zu kommen, müssen die Nutzer ihr Schicksal in die eigenen Hände nehmen, um so die Schwellen der Banken, die Standards und Kundensegmente, in die sie kategorisiert werden, zu überwinden.
Was können wir bezüglich empowerment von den verschiedenen social banking Bewegungen weltweit lernen: von der community banking Bewegung ausgehend von Chicago, von den Mikrofinanz-Bewegungen in Asien und Afrika, von den Öko-Bank Bewegungen in Europa und schließlich von den guten alten mutual banking Bewegungen der Vergangenheit. Und was können wir von den verschiedenen P2P-Finanzierungsplattformen lernen, die jetzt in Deutschland entstehen?

In dieser kostenlosen DIY Masterclass werden uns Marion Straßer und Christophe Gvené von Kreditunion mehr über Financial Empowerment through Social Banking beibringen.

Aufbauend auf diesen Erfahrungen, was hat sich nun das neue Kreditunion Selbsthilfe Model, kürzlich in Berlin gegründet, von diesen internationalen Modellen angeeignet (besonders von den italienischen Confidi, den irischen credit unions, der holländischen Rabobank und dem internationalen village banking Modell), um es besser zu machen? Was genau schlägt sie den Menschen und Gemeinschaften in diesem Bereich vor?

Abschließend, was ist es, das die Freiberufler und Mikro-Unternehmer im IT-, Know-how-, und Dienstleistungsbereich brauchen, welche Art von Finanzierungsinstrumenten würde am besten zu ihrer Entwicklung passen?

Wer spricht:

Marion Straßer, Studium der Afrikanistik und Lateinamerikanistik in Berlin, danach u.a. Kundenbetreuung bei smava online Kreditmarktplatz, dann bei der Kreditunion für Selbsthilfe und Solidarität eG Akquise und Produktentwicklung, insbesondere Kredite für Gruppeninitiativen.

Christophe Gvené ist ein internationaler Experte für die verschiedenen Formen von social banking und domestiziertem Geld, Themen, mit dem er sich seit beinahe 20 Jahren mittels Forschung, Politikdesign und dem Aufbau und der Begleitung verschiedener Einrichtungen beschäftigt. Gegenwärtig entwickelt er aktiv die Kreditunion, eine neue Mikrofinanz –Genossenschaft, die in Brüssel und Berlin startet.

Diese Masterclass ist kostenlos. Die Präsentation und Diskussion wird auf Englisch stattfinden.

Wenn Ihr teilnehmen wollt dann schreibt uns eine kurze Mail an rsvp[a]supermarkt-berlin.net.


SOCIALIZE

Für Newsletter anmelden